Lesson from a Grapefruit

Lesson from a Grapefruit

As I reached for a grapefruit for my breakfast this morning I noticed its pink rind was knobby and scarred by a deep brown line – like a dry riverbed on a pink rocky landscape.  This grapefruit did not have the general ‘fleshy’ and round appearance as the other grapefruit in the crisper and I noticed the fruit’s apex (it’s very own ‘navel’) was not perfectly center.  In fact it was completely off-center, something I have personally never seen before in a fruit or in a person (not that I am a ‘navel watcher’).  It looked to me like the ‘Jack Sparrow’ of grapefruits having I supposed endured a perilous journey from orchard to store.  But chances are this grapefruit was born that way.   Chances are you too may think you were born less-than-perfect.  Maybe you have an issue with your appearance in general or with your nose or weight or like my grapefruit, with your navel.   Well you don’t need me to point out the obvious but yeah we are all less than perfect on the outside, often through no fault of our own.    People, like trends, are fickle.  What is considered beautiful today was ‘plain or skeletal’ a century ago.  Fashions change.  Things happen: accidents, misadventures, illness, regrettable tattoos…

But on the inside well… I can tell you that when I cut open the grapefruit it was perfect.  Perfect on the inside.   So are you.

Leave a comment